Observations of island life at Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Cayman Home by Jennifer Avventura 2013It’s been two months since I set foot on this flat island in the Caribbean. Grand Cayman has become my home; she has welcomed me with sunny open arms and long stretches of white warm sand. These are just a few of the things I’ve observed living here:

  • Island time is time that time has forgotten.
  • Everyone moves slow, unless they are in their car at rush hour, then time begins to exist again, as does road rage.
  • I bike to work daily and have adopted the ‘eyes in the back of your head’ (you know the ones your mother told you about when you were a kid? I swore my Mom had eye’s in the back of her head for the better part of my life) theory, otherwise, I’ll get run over by fast drivers, blind drivers or tourists who drive on the wrong side of the road.
  • If you come to Cayman you must drive on the left, the left I said! 
  • This is an island – and no, you cannot swim under it.
  • Yes, yes, I do live here. And no, I do not fly to work in a helicopter. However, sometimes I wish I did.
  • I also don’t boat in from Miami – I live here, on this tiny island in the Caribbean. Boooyah!
  • You will receive ALL change in Cayman dollars but if you piss me off I’ll give you the beautifully coloured Canadian loonie and toonie.
  • I asked for a Brazilian cut bikini and was told “Ma’am, Cayman is a Christian country – we don’t do that here.’
  • All bars and restaurants must close at midnight on Saturday, as one second after the bell tolls it’s God’s day.
  • .51 cents is not a tip nor is .10 cents and not even a dollar. Drop that loose change at the airport boxes for needy children around the world, you will do us all a favour. Cheapatony!
  • Government offices run like the government offices in Italy – depends who you get and how they are feeling that day.
  • The rules change from one person to the next, in the blink of an eye.
  • When it rains it pours and midnight bike rides back home after work leave you soaking wet and utterly happy.
  • Extremely low flying aircraft and the roaring sounds they make have become rather normal – even though I’m convinced it’s Armageddon every time one takes off or lands.
  • Blogging as taken a backseat since my arrival at Grand Cayman as work and the beach are occupying most of my time. This I must change.

Have you ever lived an island life?  Tell me about it in the comment section below.

This entry was posted in Cayman Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Observations of island life at Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

  1. John says:

    Love this list! The closest we will get to island life will be moving to Nevada as soon as we can. Great post. 🙂

  2. Paul says:

    I remember driving on the left…it’s all OK until you have to turn right or left, like the runabout where I turned right but kept to the left.!!!!

  3. colonialist says:

    We honeymooned on Santa Carolina – about two miles long and a third of a mile wide, off Mozambique.

  4. No I have not lived on an island, but have vacationed on many. I have to go to work tomorrow and wish time could stand still 😉 Teaching is the worst for clock watching… classes must run on timetables and not when you show up. Each summer first thing I do is take off the watch! So i guess I run on my own island time for 6 weeks 😉

  5. thirdeyemom says:

    Sounds like a nice lifestyle. I went to the Caymans but it was at least 25 years ago. I remember loving how you could snorkel right from the beach.

  6. A lot has changed in 25yrs, but snorkeling has not! 🙂

  7. Yes, I know, left side driving is in Cayman, I went there and drove my friend’s car, the roads were quite smooth, traffic was very little in comparison to big cities, I like it for everything.

Leave a Reply

